AN EMPIRE OF ONE

If you don't think the world's weird, you're not paying attention.

Knowing Thyself: Another Top 10 List

The other day I asked a comic book writer, “What is your favorite comic book?” His answer? “Ahh… ummmm.” In other words, he didn’t know.

The ancient Greeks said, “Know thyself,” that is, know what makes you tick, know what turns you on, know what turns you off.

Recently, the BBC published the results of a poll which answered the question: what are the greatest films of the 21st century. Of course, they didn’t ask me, but that didn’t stop me from answering the question because I find lists are great tools for helping me “know myself.”

The BBC’s list names 100 films. I’ve only seen a bit more than half those titles, so perhaps I’m unqualified to make a list. However, of the ones I have seen there was no question of ever including most of them. They just weren’t interesting enough. Or at least not nearly as interesting (to me) as the following:

1. In the Mood for Love
2. The Grand Budapest Hotel
3. The Big Short
4. Drive
5. The Hateful Eight
6. Guardians of the Galaxy
7. La Commune
8. The Avengers/The Avengers: Age of Ultron
9. Fantastic Mr. Fox
10. The Host (2006)
11. Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
12. Los Angeles Plays Itself
13. Where to Invade Next

These are the new films I’ve seen since January 2000 that knocked my socks off. Others, at best, were “OK.” For example, Mulholland Drive, which tops the BBC poll, is a film I find inferior to other works by Lynch, mainly Eraserhead and Twin Peaks. But it’s “OK.”

So, having done this list, do I know myself a bit better? Yes, status confirmed: still a weirdo.

 

Written by David Kilmer

September 19, 2016 at 12:02 am

Posted in Films

Tagged with , ,