AN EMPIRE OF ONE

If you don't think the world's weird, you're not paying attention.

A Story I Wrote Long Ago

A long time ago, I wrote this story just for the hell of it. I showed it to one of my teachers and he suggested that I submit it to The Advocate, an upstate New York literary newspaper with a circulation of 12,000. I don’t remember if I was surprised when they published it.

While the story is based on real people and real incidents, it has to be said that the whole of it is fiction. For example, while I did have a teacher called Miss Hook, she was my fourth grade,  not fifth grade, teacher. I used her name for obvious reasons. (Did Jean Shepherd work this way?) Many years later, one of the characters in this story evolved into Sisyphus in Star Man.

Click on the image to make it larger

As far as I know, there never has been a correspondence course called Ventriloquism in 24 Hard Lessons. However, I did have a book similar to the one above.

Written by David Kilmer

June 7, 2011 at 11:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,