AN EMPIRE OF ONE

If you don't think everything's really weird, you're not paying attention.

The Argento Shot

Bruce Campbell in Congo

What is an “Argento Shot?”

1. It’s the shot that makes a film worth watching, even if there are no other shots worth watching in the film.

2. There is always at least one such shot in a film.

3. I heard Dario Argento say this firsthand during his appearance at the 1994 Argento retrospective at the American Cinematheque in Los Angeles. It’s one of my favorite quotes (here).

4. I coined the phrase based on what Argento said, but I don’t know if anyone else has used it.

An example? Yes, they are a bit more than a shot, but my wife suggests Bruce Campbell’s cameos in Congo and Waxwork II: Lost in Time. (View the latter here.)

For more examples of Argento shots, click here.

Written by David Kilmer

March 9, 2011 at 4:55 pm