AN EMPIRE OF ONE

If you don't think everything's really weird, you're not paying attention.

Prometheus

I just learned that Ridley Scott’s next film is going to be called Prometheus. At this time little is known about it other than that it began as an Alien prequel. Since the main character of a project I am working on, Star Man, is also called Prometheus, the prospect of having to change the character’s name now presents itself. It’s certain that people in the near future will think that I stole the name from the Scott project. So, for the record, I want to point out that my character introduced himself as Prometheus on December 24, 2010 in this post (and first recorded in my notes the possibility of using that name for my character on November 19, 2010), whereas the name of the Scott project was announced via Twitter only today.

I do not plan on changing my character’s name.

There are currently 24 “posters.” The first one is here and the 24th one is here. Another poster that mentions the character’s name is here.

The current 24 public posters represent images or scenes from the story, but are not necessarily presented in story order. They are meant to be teasers.

UPDATE: only the first poster referred to above is currently available on this site. Contact me if you wish to see the others referred to above.

UPDATE: APRIL 23, 2012

For what it’s worth, here’s my guess about the premise for the Scott film: ancient astronauts from a superior race created both humans and the creature of the Alien films from the same genetic material. In other words, humans and the alien creatures belong to the same family. It’s another riff on Jekyll and Hyde.

Scott has said, “The keen fan will recognize strands of ‘Alien’s’ DNA, so to speak, but the ideas tackled in this film are unique, large and provocative.” My guess is that when he speaks of Prometheus including strands of Alien’s DNA, he means it literally. That is, the DNA of the Alien species plays a role in Prometheus. Once again, my guess is that it will turn out that human and Alien DNA is linked.

Written by David Kilmer

January 14, 2011 at 7:45 pm