AN EMPIRE OF ONE

If you don't think the world's weird, you're not paying attention.

Andrew

Andrew, circa 1988

In the winter of 1980 I got the idea to do a film about my friend, Andrew, but I never got beyond doing a 40 minute interview. (At least, not yet, as I still hope to do the film.)

Here’s the interview. A few seconds are missing from the start, due to the age of the cassette tape, but otherwise the interview is unedited.

Besides Andrew and I, the other person who is heard briefly is his father who is still alive (in his nineties) and being cared for by Andrew.

Andrew, charcoal sketch, 1975

Wall behind the wood stove that heated the room where the interview took place, 1976

Written by David Kilmer

January 19, 2010 at 1:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,