AN EMPIRE OF ONE

If you don't think the world's weird, you're not paying attention.

Ghost Town?

These are pictures of Tivoli, New York, circa 1980. I used a cheap Bell & Howell Super 8 camera to take one or two frames as I rode my bicycle through the town. Then, just recently, I used a digital camera to record the images off the screen of a Super 8 editor. I think the hazy image quality is appropriate. The lack of human figures makes it  resemble a ghost town, a place and time that no longer exist.

Below is a slide show of the pictures. Each picture can also be viewed individually below the slide show. The slide show has no audio, but the best music to accompany it may be Elton John’s “Funeral for a Friend,” a link to which is currently available here.

Written by David Kilmer

January 16, 2010 at 9:31 pm